Skip to main content

POL 101 - Intro to American Government : Margaret MacKenzie: Articles/Current Events

Note:

*You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.

Your Instructor Suggests...

Popular Papers - Websites

On the Shelves of the Kirtland Library - Newspapers

These are some of the papers the Kirtland Library currently subscribes to in print.  They can be found in the library's periodical section below the magazines and journals.  Newspapers are kept for three months. 

On the Shelves of the Kirtland Library - News Magazines

The KCC library subscribes to many PRINT periodicals including those listed below.  The web sites provide a sample of the type of information available in the publications.  Current issues may be viewed in the library.  Back issues may be borrowed.  Mother Jones and National Review articles can also be found in the General Reference Center GOLD database.

Other Helpful Guides

Conducting a database search is different than conducting an open web search.  The Database Searching guide provides some helpful tips to get you started.

Other newspaper resources:

The Library's Databases

A good place to find articles is in the the Library's databases. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. 

Where should you start?  The Kirtland librarians recommend the databases shown below.

InfoTrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand:  You can enter a term and search.  Then narrow your results by date, subject, and section by using the column on the right:

General Reference Center Gold

For more in depth coverage, consider magazines.  You can search for a particular topic or browse the General Reference Center GOLD database.

To browse a recent issue, enter a magazine or newspaper title into the General Reference Gold database search box.  On the results page look for "Do you want to read (title you entered)" just above the list of results.  To see only articles from that source, click on the "Do you want to read (title you entered)" link.  You can then choose to sort by newest (toward top of page) or limit your results by publication date (column on the right).

A few of the magazines and newspapers included in the General Reference Gold database:

  • The Atlantic
  • Newsweek
  • The Economist
  • Inc.
  • Mother Jones
  • National Geographic
  • National Review
  • Newsweek
  • The New York Times
  • The New Yorker
  • USA Today
  • The Washington Post
  • Wired