Primary and Secondary Sources Video
Imagine Easy Solutions. Understanding Primary & Secondary Sources. YouTube. YouTube, 2 June
2014. Web. 20 Apr. 2015.
Primary Source Databases
Many of the history databases available to you through the Kirtland Library include or are entirely comprised of primary source material. To see all of the Library's history databases and read a short description of each, go to the Databases for History and Geography page.
Take a look at Kirtland's Databases for History & Geography for primary source information.
A sample of the databases with a primary source focus :
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowDigitized facsimile images of hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Includes coverage of the American Civil War, African American culture and history, westward migration, Antebellum-era life, and other major topics.
- Gale Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch three of Kirtland Library’s Primary Source databases at one time: Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, The Times Digital Archive, and Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 - Unlimited users
- Introduction to U.S. History: The Civil War (Gale) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source information on the United States Civil War - Unlimited users
Primary Sources on the Web
Primary sources can be found in some of the collections available on Kirtland Library's Databases for History & Geography page (see above). You may also find primary sources in subject and course guides. The links below will give you an idea of the types of primary sources available elsewhere on the web.
- American Memory from the Library of CongressThis site from the Library of Congress provides access to historical texts, photos, oral histories, maps, sheet music and recordings. The site can be searched and browsed. Choosing “list all collections” brings up an A-Z list with the option to show descriptions. The “more browse options” offers the choice of browsing by topic, time period, or region.
- DocsTeachCollections of National Archives documents organized by subject/time period for easier classroom use.
- National ArchivesFind Federal documents, military records, photos, letters, and links to other helpful sites.
- NewspapersProvides links to newspaper collections including Chronicling America.
- Primary Source SetsSelected primary sources from the Library of Congress
- The Social Welfare History Project Image PortalFrom Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries, this site, " brings together photographs, pamphlets, artifacts and documents chronicling the history of the nation's response to human need."
- Using Primary Sources on the WebProvides links to major primary source collections and tips on finding, evaluating, and citing primary sources from the Reference and User Services Association of the ALA
Oral History Interview Tips
The Oral History Workshop by Call Number: D 16.14 .H378 2009ISBN: 9780761151975Publication Date: 2009-11-26
Although the following links pertain to creating oral histories, the basic tips regarding the interview may prove helpful.
- Principles and Best PracticesThis page is from the Oral History Association's web site.
- On National Day of Listening, How to Get Someone's StoryThe bulleted section of this Nov. 23, 2012 article from The Atlantic offers suggestions for being a good listener.
Contact Us
Here's How:
Hours: 8 am - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday - Grayling
Phone: 989-275-5000 x 246
Email: library@kirtland.edu Please allow 24-48 hours for response
For Answers to Library Questions, check out our Library FAQs
Quiz Yourself - Primary or Secondary?
Quiz yourself! Decide whether the following five sources are primary or secondary.
John Paul Jones by Call Number: E207 .J7 T48 2003ISBN: 9780743258043Publication Date: 2004-05-10"A penetrating biography...an adventure story....Part George Patton, part Jesse James, Jones was, as it turns out, a perfect American hero."
-Nathaniel Philbrick,
The New York Times Book Review
Answer: Secondary Source
A biography is not a primary source, but an autobiography is.
"Stringing rural TVA transmission line."
Rural Electrification Administration (REA) - Tennessee Valley Administration (TVA)
Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
Public Domain Photographs
1882-1962
National Archives Identifier: 195878
Answer: Primary Source
Viewing historical photographs can give a sense of the time period beyond the original intent of the photo. Look at those vehicles in the background!
The White House. Remarks by The First Lady at a Reach Higher "Prep" Rally.
YouTube. YouTube, 9 Sept. 2014. Web. 20 Apr. 2015.
Answer: Primary Source
Speeches, whether in video, audio, or transcript form, are primary sources.
The Diary of John Quincy Adams, 1794-1845 : American Diplomacy, and Political, Social, and Intellectual Life, from Washington to Polk by Call Number: E377 .A214Publication Date: 1969Edited by Allan Nevins
Answer: Primary Source
Diaries, letters, and journals are primary sources.
Michigan and the Civil War by Call Number: E514 .D46 2011ISBN: 9781609491734Publication Date: 2011-02-11Contents: Rockets' red glare -- The coming fury -- Answering Lincoln's call -- 1862: swings of the pendulum -- Women of war -- War on water -- Special forces -- Turning the tide -- The fighting 102nd -- The generals -- The war politicians -- POWs: the hard life and Andersonville -- 1864: year of ascendancy -- Coda: Appomattox, Irwinville, and the Sultana.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Answer: Secondary Source
Many primary sources are referenced in this secondary source. As a secondary source, it is able to describe Michigan's involvement in the Civil War from different persepectives.
4-5 correct -- Source Master - You've got it all under control!
2-3 correct -- Source Apprentice - You're starting to get the idea!
0-1 correct -- Source Novice - You must be new to this. It may help for you to watch the video on this page. For additional assistance, please contact a librarian or your instructor.
A Sample of Primary Sources from the Shelves of the Kirtland Library
- Breath Escaping Envelopes by Call Number: F572 .G5 B44 2000ISBN: 0967452503Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Copper Country Journal by Call Number: F572 .K43 H6 1991ISBN: 0814323421Publication Date: 1991-03-01- Detroit to Fort Sackville, 1778-1779 by Call Number: E234 .M28 1978ISBN: 0814315895Publication Date: 1978-01-01
Diaries of an Isle Royale Fisherman by Call Number: F572 .I8 S44 2002ISBN: 9780935289138Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The Indians of Hungry Hollow by Call Number: E78 .M6 D86 2000ISBN: 0472111159Publication Date: 2004-07-02
Remember the Distance That Divides Us by Call Number: E449 .C445 2004ISBN: 0870137131Publication Date: 2004-08-31- Social changes in western Michigan, 1930 to 1990 : interviews by Call Number: F575 .A1 S8 1997Publication Date: 1997
The Diary of Ira Gillaspie of the Eleventh Michigan Infantry : from Michigan to Murfreesboro by Call Number: E514.5 11 TH .G54 1965Publication Date: 1965
The Diary of Nannie Haskins Williams by Call Number: F 444 .C6 W55 2014ISBN: 9781621900382Publication Date: 2014-04-09
Ewing Family Civil War Letters by Call Number: E464 .E9 1994ISBN: 0870133497Publication Date: 1995-01-31- For Country, Cause and Leader by Call Number: E514.5 2 ND .H38 1993ISBN: 9780395663608Publication Date: 1993-07-21
