Skip to main content

ECO 201 - Principles of Economics MACRO: Articles/Current Events

Find Articles

A good place to find articles is in the Library's databases. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts.  Search any of the Databases for Business & Economics.

Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal is available to Kirtland students through the ProQuest database. Your single sign-on will allow you to access it.

  • Click on the ProQuest link above.
  • Click on the word "Publications" above the search bar.
  • Click on the W in the alphabet and then choose Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition.
  • From the resulting page you can find articles in a several different ways:
    • To
      • see the most recent edition, click on the date of the latest available issue. 
      • view a particular issue, scroll to the bottom and choose the year, then month, then date.
        • from this point you can search within an issue by using the search bar at the bottom of the page.  Searching for a section heading, such as "Business News" (use the quotation marks) will find articles from that section of the paper.
      • find articles about a particular topic from any of the available issues, enter a search term in the search box that is in the middle of the page below "Search within this publication".  
      • search for particular terms within a time frame, click on Advanced Search.

Research and Articles

*NOTE: Conducting a database search is different than conducting a search with a web search engine.  The database searching guide below provides some helpful tips for searching databases and evaluating sources.

Search any of the Databases for Business & Economics for articles.

You can enter any terms to do a basic or entire document search.  To search by subject you need to use the subjects designated by the database.  An advanced search lets you combine different search terms and types.

On the results page you can sort your results by most recent (at the top of the page)  If you look to the right you can choose to see results from journals, magazines or news sources.  Look further down the right side column for the options to limit the results by document type, time frame, and subject.

 

2 Popular and Easy To Use Databases

In addition to its original content, Opposing ViewPoints in Context collects information about a topic from a variety of sources including journals, newspapers, websites, and magazines. 

CQ Researcher magazine has complete reports on a variety of topics.  Don't forget to see the bibliography, footnotes, and contacts for more potential sources.

* Notice the date on CQ Researcher reports.  They aren't always recent enough for current events assignments.

General Reference Center Gold

You can search for a particular topic or browse the General Reference Center GOLD database.

To browse a recent issue of a particular publication, click on the General Reference Center GOLD link above.  Click on "publication search" below the search bar.  Enter a magazine or newspaper title into the Publication Search page search box.  On the resulting page, you can choose which issue of the publication you want to browse. 

A few of the business magazines included in the General Reference Gold database are:

  • ADWEEK
  • The Economist
  • Entrepreneur (online ed.)
  • Inc.
  • Wired

Other popular periodicals include :

  • The Atlantic
  • Newsweek
  • Mother Jones
  • National Geographic
  • National Review
  • Newsweek
  • The New York Times
  • The New Yorker
  • USA Today
  • The Washington Post

Periodicals On the Shelf

The web sites of these publications provide current news and editorials about the latest business trends. 

Back issues of these periodicals are available for check out in the Kirtland Library.

Local & Other News

Find links to local newspapers and other newspaper resources for current events.

Popular News Sites for Current Events

InfoTrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand:  You can enter a term and search.  Then narrow your results by date, subject, and section by using the column on the right:

Other Helpful Guides

Conducting a database search is different than conducting an open web search.  The Database Searching guide provides some helpful tips to get you started.

Other newspaper resources: