|
Benefits to using ebooks:
|
The Kirtland Library has three main platforms for accessing ebooks:
Each platform has different options, which is why they may look different from one another. |
Begin by using your single sign-on to access Gale Ebooks.
Search the Entire Ebook Collections (All Subjects)
Enter your topic, or use the "Suggested Search Terms" found on this page, in the "Basic Search" box at the top of the screen.
Search by Subject Collections
You can also search Gale Ebooks by Subject Collection. Select eBooks related to your topic by clicking on the subject under the "Browse Collections" heading located on the left side of the screen.
Enter your topic, or use the "Suggested Search Terms" found on this page, in the "Search within Collection" box in the upper left corner of the screen. This brief video will show you how to browse the subject collections: Gale Ebooks - Browsing Titles (1:11)
Narrow Your Results
Limit your results by using the filters (on the right side of the screen) like Subjects, Document Type, or Search Within. This brief video will show you how to narrow your search: Gale Ebooks - Searching for Information (1:15)
Special Features of Gale Ebooks
Find more information about searching Gale Ebooks, use the Database Searching guide.
Use the tabs to view suggested search terms related to your course.
| Capitalism | Inflation | Federal Reserve |
| Supply and demand | Globalization | Sales tax |
| Gross domestic product | Unemployment |
| Market failure | Supply and demand | Price elasticity |
| Profit maximization | Monopoly | International trade |
| Human capital | Natural resources | Fixed and variable costs |
Begin by using your single sign-on to access Ebook Central.
Basic Search
Start by entering your search term(s) in the "Basic Search" search box at the top of the page. Or, use the "Suggested Search Terms" found on this page.
The keyword is highlighted in the search results, and there's a short description to give you a bit more information about the book including whether it is currently "available" or "in use."
Click on a title to begin reading online or to see the Table of Contents and more information.
Chapter Results provide the top chapters from the most relevant books. This video clip will show you how to do a basic search on Ebook Central.
Narrow Your Results
Limit your results by using the filters (on the left side of the screen) like Subject, Language, Year Published, and more. View this video clip to learn how to narrow your search.
Special Features of Ebook Central
Find more information about searching Ebook Central, use the Database Searching guide or the Ebook Central guide.
Use the tabs to view suggested search terms related to your course.
The following are just a few of the Ebook Central titles available:
These titles will open in Ebook Central.
The following are just a few of the Ebook Central titles available:
These titles will open in Ebook Central.