Skip to Main Content

Kirtland

SON - Sonography: Find Articles

Useful resources for the study of sonography

Articles & Where to Find Them

Publications containing articles are referred to as periodicals and come in many forms:

  • scholarly journals
  • trade journals 
  • popular magazines
  • newspapers

Find out more about the different types of periodicals by looking at the Magazine vs. Journals chart from the Austin Community College Library Services department.

Articles provide current information including news, opinions, and research. As a college student, you will not be using magazines like People, Ladies Home Journal, Sports Illustrated, or Vogue. Your instructors expect you to find articles in scholarly journals for your research. 

The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. While they contain magazines, journals, and newspapers, some databases may also contain reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Database Searching guide can help you better understand databases and database searching.

What database will help you find the best articles for this project? Browse Databases by Subject or look at an A-Z list of all databases available through Kirtland's Library.

Searching the Databases off-campus? Use your Single Sign-On username and password to access.

Suggested Databases

Kirtland librarians recommend the following databases for this project:

Or, choose from the Health Sciences database list.

Select "Academic Journals" or "Books" as your source type from the Results list.

Searching the Databases off-campus? Use your Single Sign-On username and password to access.

Your Instructor Recommends....

..... the following medical websites:

  • Medline Plus from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health - Select Health Topics
  • Medscape - "Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com". Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools".

Journal Titles

Do a Publication search for the following title in the Gale Databases:

  • Cardiovascular Ultrasound