Skip to main content

Database Searching: Database Searching

An introduction to basic and advanced database searches

Databases

The Library provides access to nearly 70 different databases. Access Kirtland databases on the Databases page:

Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the library's databases.

ProQuest & InfoTrac

ProQuest and Gale's InfoTrac provide access to many databases.  The video tutorials on this page will show you how to search library databases more easily and productively. 

How to Search - InfoTrac

InfoTrac lets you search more than one database at a time.  The first InfoTrac screen looks different from the search screens you will see as you continue your searches.  That is because this is the page on which you choose which databases to search. 

Do step 1 or 2.

You can select an individual database by clicking the select box to the left of its description (1), or you can search as many databases at once as is allowed by choosing select all (2). 

Then do step 3 or 4.

You can do a basic search from this screen by entering a search term in the search bar (3) or you can continue to the next screen without starting a search (4).

If you do a basic search from this screen you will next see the results of your search.  If you continue without yet doing a search, you will next see a database search screen like the one shown in the video on the other tab of this box.  That search screen offers options beyond the basic search, such as a subject search.

Loading ...

How to Search - ProQuest

ProQuest offers video tutorials on how to search their databases. Watch these to help you improve your searching skills in ProQuest.

A basic search is quick and produces many results. (2:11)

An advanced search can help you zero in on just the information you are looking for. (2:13)

Understand the results of your search and see what features ProQuest databases offer. (3:43)

Loading ...

General Tips for Searching Databases (5:19)

This video, from the Memoirs of a Modern Librarian,  provides 7 search tips that apply to most databases.

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching. By Vanessa Garofalo. YouTube. YouTube, 6 Feb. 2013. Web. 14 Oct. 2014.