Web sites
- AMA (American Medical Association)This site focuses on physician concerns and includes the AMA's Code of Medical Ethics.
- ANA (American Nurses Association)Provides news for nurses relating to career development, ethics, professionalism, safety, advocacy, and policy. The Career Center lets you search for jobs in a variety of ways including location and speciality.
- Association of Surgical TechnologistsUnder "members" see "professional resources" for sample resumes. Under "publications" see the current issue of The Surgical Technologist.
- The Cell: An Image LibraryActual images of cells, their parts, and how they act can be viewed. Time lapse, three dimensional, and still photos as well as video are used. Information about the cell and how it was photographed is included. This site was created by the American Society for Cell Biology.
- Disaster Lit Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health"a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. "
- health.govFrom the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP), includes information about healthcare initiatives, diet and exercise guidelines, and other professional resources.
- John Hopkins Medicine PodcastsShort (some very short) podcasts on a range of health topics, many of which highlight recent studies. Use the search box or choose a topic from the topics on the right.
- MLA Top Health WebsitesThe Medical Library Association's For Health Consumers and Patients page has categorized sites as being useful for general health, cancer, breast cancer, diabetes, eye disease, HIV/AIDS, or stroke.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative MedicineThe "For Health Care Providers" portion of this site can be found under the Health Info tab. In this section links to resources such as medicine literature reviews organized by condition and clinical practice guidelines, can be found.
- National Patient Safety FoundationThis website provides patient safety information for patients and health professionals. Educational webcasts, reports, citations to recent pertinent articles, consumer tools, and a patient safety listserv can be found here.
- SAMHSA - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services AdministrationPublications available to download include Opioid Overdose Prevention Toolkit and A Guide for Medical Providers in the Emergency Department Taking Care of Suicide Attempt Survivors
- TeachMeAnatomy"A collaborative project, all the material for The TeachMeSeries is written and edited by a volunteer team of medical students, doctors-in-training and senior clinicians."
Web sites reviewed by Choice and/or the KCC Librarians.
Nursing Outlook Newsfeed
Loading ...
Contact Us
Here's How:
Hours: 8 am - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday - Grayling
Phone: 989-275-5000 x 246
Email: library@kirtland.edu Please allow 24-48 hours for response
For Answers to Library Questions, check out our Library FAQs
Databases for Nursing & Allied Health
A wide range of reference materials and information of use to those in nursing and other medical professions can be found by using the library's databases for Health Sciences.
Intro to Health & Wellness Database (1:42)
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new windowMedical, statistical and health-related information and alternative/ complimentary therapies - Unlimited users
On the Shelves of the Kirtland Library
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing Practice by Call Number: QP 34.5 .C66 2021ISBN: 9781526460325Publication Date: 2021-01-20
Medical Terminology: an Illustrated Guide with Navigate 2 Premier Access by Call Number: R 123 .C64 2021ISBN: 9781975136376Publication Date: 2020-02-18
Operating Room Skills by Call Number: RD 32.3 .D36 2020ISBN: 9780135204030Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Gahart's 2022 Intravenous Medications by Call Number: RM 170 .E47 2022ISBN: 9780323825092Publication Date: 2021-05-28
Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference by Call Number: RM 301.12 .S55 2021ISBN: 9780323757331Publication Date: 2020-03-26
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by Call Number: RT 48.6 .N87 2020ISBN: 9780323551120Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Admission Assessment Exam Review by Call Number: RT 55 .H47 2021 c.1ISBN: 9780323582261Publication Date: 2020-04-14
