Skip to main content

BIO 200 - Fundamentals of Nutrition: Julie Lavender: Articles & Videos

Resources for completing the end of semester project

Access

Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access some library resources.

Where Do I find Articles?

The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Databases: How to Search Them guide (see bottom of box) provides tips to make your search more productive.

What databases will be the best for this project? You can search any of the Nursing & Allied Health databases.

Kirtland librarians recommend starting with:

 

Another helpful guide:

Peer Reviewed Articles

Some journal articles are peer reviewed.  Peer reviewed articles carry more authority than other articles because their content has been reviewed by subject experts prior to publication.  Databases allow you to limit your search to peer reviewed materials.  By doing so, you assure that the resources you are using are reliable and acceptable for scholarly work.

 

In Gale's Health and Wellness Resource Center database just below the search box are options for limiting your search.  Instead of the term peer-reviewed, the term refereed publications is used.  Check refereed publications to limit your search to peer-reviewed materials.

 

You may not always have the option to limit your results to peer reviewed articles on the first screen.  You might need to do an advanced search or complete a search and then select peer reviewed on the results screen.

 

Gale Health Reference Center Academic is an example of a database which provides the option to limit results to peer reviewed journals on the results page.  There, choose peer reviewed from the list of filters found on the right side of the screen.  Notice this screen offers other helpful features such as the ability to sort by relevance and view subjects.

Films on Demand

You can search for a key term or choose subject index from the menu at the top left of the page.  The "Narrow Results" options on the right side of your results page let you choose full videos or segments and limit by copyright year.  Sample titles include:

  • Globesity: Fat's New Frontier
  • I'm Not Nuts: Living with Food Allergies
  • Type 2 Diabetes, Obesity, and Cardiovascular Risk

Many titles provide transcripts (look at the tabs in the box to the right) which can be helpful when citing. Some also allow searching within a transcript to more easily find relevant information, however you need to scroll through the transcript to look for highlighted terms.  It does not automatically jump to them.