Skip to main content

BIO 201 - General Zoology: Amy Kuczynski: Articles

Resources to assist you with your species project

Find Articles

The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts.

What databases will be the best for this project? 

Kirtland Librarians recommend starting by searching many of the Gale databases at once with an InfoTrac search.

You can also search any of the Databases for Science & Mathematics.

A few tips

Tip: Many animal names are also subject terms.  In InfoTrac, for example, gray squirrel is a subject term.  By entering gray squirrel into the search bar and choosing subject from the drop down menu to the right of the search bar, the results will be about gray squirrels and not merely mention the word.

Tip: If your instructor has specified academic resources, choose academic journals from the content types list on the right side of the results page.

Tip:  Look at the number of results.  If there are many, a limited number will be listed.  Click on the Show More Results option at the bottom of the page to see more.  This may be an option multiple times. 

How to Search - InfoTrac

InfoTrac lets you search more than one database at a time.  The first InfoTrac screen looks different from the search screens you will see as you continue your searches.  That is because this is the page on which you choose which databases to search. 

Do step 1 or 2.

You can select an individual database by clicking the select box to the left of its description (1), or you can search as many databases at once as is allowed by choosing select all (2). 

Then do step 3 or 4.

You can do a basic search from this screen by entering a search term in the search bar (3) or you can continue to the next screen without starting a search (4).

If you do a basic search from this screen you will next see the results of your search.  If you continue without yet doing a search, you will next see a database search screen like the one shown in the video on the other tab of this box.  That search screen offers options beyond the basic search, such as a subject search.

Tips and Shortcuts

This video, from the Memoirs of a Modern Librarian provides information on how to best search databases.

(February 6, 2013)