Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access some library resources.
Where Do I Find Articles?
The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. Search any of the Databases for Business & Economics.
For articles from business and trade publications as well as selected newspapers, search Gale Business Collection.
Business (Gale OneFile)
Covers all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice - Unlimited users
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)
Academic journals and magazines for business school students and entrepreneurs
*Conducting a database search is different than conducting a search with a web search engine. The Database Searching guide provides some helpful tips for searching databases and evaluating sources.
*You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Information on art, current events, education, general science, humanities, literature, medicine, physical science, social science, technology and theology - Unlimited users
For more in depth coverage, consider magazines. You can search for a particular topic or browse the Academic OneFile database.
To browse a particular title, click on publication search under the search bar. On the resulting page enter the title you would like to read. Click on the resulting title to see the dates of the issues available in full text. Choose an issue or search within all of them by using the search within publication bar (on the right side of the page).
A few of the magazines and newspapers included in the Academic OneFile database:
- The Atlantic
- The Economist
- Mother Jones
- National Geographic
- National Review
- The New York Times
- The New Yorker
- USA Today
- The Washington Post
Databases for Newspapers
The Library's Newspapers databases allow you to read newspaper articles from around the state, nation, and world. Unlike the open web, full text articles can be found without subscribing or paying additional fees. Search for articles about a certain topic, or view the articles from a Gale Database that will take you to specific topic such as (link will open in a new window):
*These and many other papers are available with your single sign-on access to the Library's A-Z databases.
The web sites of these publications provide current news and editorials about the latest business trends.
Back issues of these periodicals are available for check out in the Kirtland Library.
News from around the web
Note: Most of the newspaper sites allow limited access or full access for a limited number of articles. You can get complete access through Academic OneFile (see box on this page) for many of these.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is available to Kirtland students through the ProQuest database. Your single sign-on will allow you to access it.
- Click on the ProQuest link above.
- Click on the word "Publications" toward the top, left side of the page.
- Do a search for Wall Street Journal, in title. This will bring you to Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y. (this may not be at the top of the search, but it will be in top 1-3 titles).
- Click on the link so that you see only the Eastern edition.
- From that page you can find articles in a several different ways:
- To see the most recent edition, click on the date of the latest available issue.
- To view a particular issue, scroll to the bottom and choose the year, then month, then date.
- from this point you can search within an issue by using the search bar at the bottom of the page. Searching for a section heading, such as "Business News" (use the quotation marks) will find articles from that section of the paper.
- To find articles about a particular topic from any of the available issues, enter a search term in the search box that is in the middle of the page below "Search within this publication".
- To search for particular terms within a time frame, click on Advanced Search.