Databases for Reference & Encyclopedias
Dictionaries, almanacs, indexes, and other reference resources offer general and foundational information. At the beginning of a research project, they can be a great place to gather background information and helpful vocabulary terms. Kirtland librarians recommend reviewing the databases for Reference & Encyclopedias for basic information.
Quick Reference - Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
- TheFreeDictionaryChoose the encyclopedia tab (it uses information from several encyclopedias) or the dictionary tab (the American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition).
Web sites
- AAPB: American Archive of Public Broadcasting"More than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming and more content will be added periodically."
- EveryCRSReport.com"Congressional Research Service reports are the best way for anyone to quickly get up to speed on major political issues without having to worry about spin — from the same source Congress uses." Conduct a search or browse the topics.
- Federal Student Aid"Federal Student Aid, a part of the U.S. Department of Education, is the largest provider of student financial aid in the nation.”
The site provides career, scholarship, grant, work-study, and other aid information from. - FedFlixFedFlix, provides “the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.”
- FinAid!: The SmartStudent Guide to Financial AidArticles, links, and other information for financing schooling through scholarships, loans, savings, and military aid are provided.
- Google Scholar"Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research."
- MOVIECLIPS.com“…the team at MOVIECLIPS has worked tirelessly to collect clips and make them completely searchable by actor, title, genre, occasion, action, mood, character, theme, setting, prop, and even dialogue.”” With over 12,000 movie clips, you can search, find, view, discuss and share scenes from your favorite movies”” We are legal and free to every user.”
- Peterson’s“All the info and tools you need to find, get in, and pay for school.”
This site offers test prep, timelines, scholarship, essay writing information, and articles for different types of post-secondary education. - WebExhibits“WebExhibits is an interactive museum of science, humanities and culture.”
The exhibits are Causes of Color, Calendars Through the Ages, Daylight Saving Time, Pigments Through the Ages, Color Vision and Art, Bellini’s Feast of the Gods, Poetry Through the Ages, VanGoh’s Letters, and Butter.
Web sites reviewed by Choice and/or the KCC Librarians.
Contact Us
Here's How:
Hours: 8 am - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday - Grayling
Phone: 989-275-5000 x 246
Email: library@kirtland.edu Please allow 24-48 hours for response
For Answers to Library Questions, check out our Library FAQs
On the Shelves of the KCC Library
Reference materials do not circulate. Please visit the library to take advantage of these helpful tools.
Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market 2017 by Call Number: Ref. N 8600 .A78 2016ISBN: 9781440346576Publication Date: 2016-11-16
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations by Call Number: Ref. PN 6081 .B37 2012ISBN: 9780316017596Publication Date: 2012-11-06
New Concise World Atlas by Call Number: Ref. G 1021 .N49 2015ISBN: 9780190265410Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary by Call Number: Ref. KF156 .N654 2009ISBN: 9781413310375Publication Date: 2009-05-24
Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2020-2021 by Call Number: Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 O33 2020ISBN: 9781641433945Publication Date: 2019-12-11
Robert's Rules of Order by Call Number: Ref. JF 515 .R634 2011 c.2ISBN: 9780306820205Publication Date: 2011-09-27
The Routledge Companion to Ethics by Call Number: Ref. BJ21 .R68 2010ISBN: 9780415413626Publication Date: 2010-07-27
