Skip to main content

CHE 201 - Organic Chemistry: Organic Chemistry Websites

Find information related to the area of Organic Chemistry.

Organic Chemistry Websites Suggested By Your Instructor

Chemspider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Search by chemical names

  • Systematic names
  • Synonyms
  • Trade names
  • Database identifiers

Search by chemical structure

  • Create structure-based queries
  • Draw structures in the web page
  • Use structure files from your compute

Find important data

  • Literature references
  • Physical properties
  • Interactive spectra
  • Chemical suppliers

Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB) is a toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas. The information in HSDB has been assessed by a Scientific Review Panel.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) mission is to develop new information technologies to aid in the understanding of fundamental molecular and genetic processes that control health and disease.

PubChem may be especially helpful to you (see list - right side of their webpage). It is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Each month our website and programmatic services provide data to several million users worldwide.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. From the smart electric power grid and electronic health records to atomic clocks, advanced nanomaterials, and computer chips, innumerable products and services rely in some way on technology, measurement, and standards provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

NIST measurements support the smallest of technologies to the largest and most complex of human-made creations—from nanoscale devices so tiny that tens of thousands can fit on the end of a single human hair up to earthquake-resistant skyscrapers and global communication networks.

Explore the NIST tabs - Topics, Publications, Labs & Major Programs, and Services & Resources.

The Publications tab will take you to a database which includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The database, however, is not complete. Additional publications are added on a continual basis.

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS) is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. Since 1997, SDBS has opened to the public free of charge through TACC (Tsukuba Advanced Computing Center) as RIO-DB (Research Information Data Base).