Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Searching: Home

An introduction to basic and advanced database searches

Databases

The Library provides access to over 100 different databases. This guide will help you understand what library databases are, the kinds of information they contain, and how to search them. 

Access Kirtland databases on the Databases page: http://www.kirtland.edu/library/databases 

Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the library's databases.

What is a library database?

Databases:

  • provide electronic access 24/7 to academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, video clips, and audio clips.
  • are organized so they can be searched by keyword, author, title, and subject. Some databases offer additional ways they can be searched such as publisher, corporate name, and series.
  • provide full-text of many articles - not just a citation or abstract.
  • may provide access to peer-reviewed journals.
  • contain current articles - some published as recently as today!

Where do I find databases?

Access Kirtland databases on the Databases page: http://www.kirtland.edu/library/databases

The Library provides access to more than 100 different databases.

Kirtland databases arranged by the following subjects:

  • Arts, Music, & Theater
  • Automotive
  • Business & Economics
  • Consumer Health
  • Criminal Justice & Law
  • Education
  • Health Sciences
  • History & Geography
  • Literature and Languages
  • Newspapers
  • Philosophy, Ethics, & Religion
  • Political Science, Government, & Military
  • Reference & Encyclopedias
  • Science, Technology, & Mathematics
  • Social Sciences, Psychology, & Sociology

Why use a library database? (2:34)

You may be asked to use scholarly, credible, or peer-reviewed resources to complete a project, speech, or paper. In many cases, you will not find these types of resources available through a search engine such as Google.

Watch this video to see why your library is a better choice for scholarly resources than the open web.

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them. By Yavapai College Library. YouTube. YouTube, 29 Sept. 20. Web. 14 Oct. 2014.

Contact Us

Here's How:

Hours:  8 am - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday - Grayling

Phone: 989-275-5000 x 246

Email: library@kirtland.edu  Please allow 24-48 hours for response

Online/Off Campus Access: Check out our FAQ page