Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where Do I Find Articles?
The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Database Searching guide can help you better understand databases and how to use them.
What databases will be the best for this project?
You can search any of the databases for Philosophy & Ethics.
Kirtland librarians recommend the following:
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
CQ Researcher (KCC subscription)
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news including criminal justice, the economy, education, the environment, health, international affairs, social trends and technology - 5 concurrent users
TIP: Start with "Issue Tracker". You'll find it in the "Browse Reports" drop down menu.
CQ Researcher Guide
A guide that tells a little bit more about CQ Researcher - some of the features and tips on citing.
An InfoTrac Power Search will search several databases at once. You can search all or choose the databases that best suit your assignment.
Gale Databases - Power Search (Gale)
20 million+ full-text articles covering a broad spectrum of disciplines and topics from 6,000 scholarly and popular periodicals - Unlimited users
Tips for using Films on Demand
- Search - When you search for a term you will see results for full videos, segments, and series. Using the filter options (from the menu next to the number of results above the first video shown) you can narrow your results by format, date, type of film, producer, or subject.
- Browse - You can browse subject titles by choosing Subjects from the menu at the upper left of the home page. Choose "view all" to see a page of subjects with subcategories, or click on a subject and then pick a subcategory from the drop down menu next to the subject heading.
- Transcripts - Many titles provide transcripts which can be helpful when citing. Click on the word transcript at the upper right of the video. You can search for a term within a transcript to more easily find relevant information.
*You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.