Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reliable Web Sites
Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Provides information on the misuse and abuse of alcohol, over-the-counter medications, illicit drugs, and tobacco and how they affect the health and well-being of millions of Americans.
Controlled Substances Act - Drug Enforcement Administration
The Controlled Substances Act (CSA) is the statute prescribing federal U.S. drug policy under which the manufacture, importation, possession, use and distribution of certain substances is regulated.
Drug Abuse - Medline Plus
Provides links to government websites as well as other reliable websites related to drug and substance abuse.
DrugFacts - National Institute on Drug Abuse
Drug facts sheets and research reports available on a number of drugs.
Drug Fact Sheets - U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)
Read DEA’s Drug Fact Sheets for the latest information illegally used drugs. Statistics and facts can be found in the Resource Center shown on the right side of the page.
Drug Information Portal - National Library of Medicine
Find links to other websites related to a specific drug search. Over 60,500 drugs listed.
Drugs, Herbs, & Supplements - MedlinePlus
Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
Drugs of Abuse - National Institute on Drug Abuse
Learn the facts about the most commonly abused drugs. Each drug page includes a brief overview, street and clinical names, the effects of the drug on the brain and body, statistics and trends, and relevant publications and articles written by NIDA researchers and scientists. Includes Bath Salts, Club Drugs, Ecstasy, and more.
World Drug Report 2017
The World Drug Report provides an annual overview of the major developments in drug markets for the various drug categories, ranging from production to trafficking, including development of new routes and modalities, as well as consumption.
Reference Books & Dictionaries
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a variety of subjects - Unlimited users
The Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) titles provide basic information on many of your topics:
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
You can search the entire GVRL collection by typing your search term(s) in the search box at the top of the main page or you can choose a title and search within it. When you click on a cover you will see the "within publication" search box on the right side of the page.
You will find more reference books when searching the InfoTrac databases. Search your topic - then choose "Books" from "Your Results".
The Library's databases contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts.
What databases will be the best for this project?
For articles, search the Nursing & Allied Health database .
Merck Manual for Healthcare Professionals - Search under "Drugs by Name, Generic & Brand" under Drug Information.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Medical, statistical and health-related information and alternative/ complimentary therapies - Unlimited users
In the box labeled Drugs, click on "show all". On the resulting page click on the drug you are interested in learning more about. This will bring you to an overview of that drug as well as related reference, magazine, academic journal, and news articles.
Kirtland librarians also recommend searching Opposing Viewpoints in Context. In the search box, type "narcotics" or a specific narcotic/drug. You will find lists of viewpoints, journals, statistics, audiofiles, newspapers, images, videos, reference books, magazines, and websites.
Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.
Suggested Subject Heading for Books and Articles
Try these subjects headings when looking for information:
- club drugs
- drug names (cocaine, heroin, speed, methamphetamine, etc.)
- illegal drugs
- medical marijuana