Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUS 101 - Music History & Appreciation: Find Articles & Websites

MUS 101

Articles: What They Are & How to Find Them

Publications containing articles are referred to as periodicals and come in many forms:

  • scholarly journals
  • trade journals 
  • popular magazines
  • newspapers

Find out more about the different types of periodicals by looking at the Magazine vs. Journals chart from the Austin Community College Library Services department.

Articles provide current information including news, opinions, and research. As a college student, you will not be using magazines like People, Ladies Home Journal, Sports Illustrated, or Vogue. Your instructors expect you to find articles in scholarly journals for your research. 


The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. While they contain magazines, journals, and newspapers, some databases may also contain reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Database Searching guide can help you better understand databases and database searching.

What database will help you find the best articles for this project? Browse Databases by Subject or look at an A-Z list of all databases available through Kirtland's Library.


Searching the Databases off-campus? Use your Single Sign-On username and password to access.

Suggested Music Databases

Kirtland librarians recommend the following music databases:

A Tutorial on How to Use Databases

Databases: What Are They & Why Use Them (4:27)

Suggested Search Terms

Motown The Beatles Christian Jazz Country
Mozart Beethoven Chopin Yo-Yo Ma Classical
Rock and Roll Punk Hip Hop Placido Dimingo Jose Carrras
Luciano Pavarotti Neil Diamond Barry Manilow BeeGees Pink
Stevie Nicks Loretta Lynn Dolly Parton Adele Sheryl Crow