The resources on this page have been culled from what is available in print and around the web. Information on this topic is limited. You will find repeated references to the books shown in Kirtland's collection.
Suggested Search Terms
The Traverse City State Hospital has changed names over the years. Suggested search terms include:
- Traverse City State Hospital
- Northern Michigan Asylum
- Northern Michigan State Hospital
- Traverse City Regional Psychiatric Hospital
Web Resources
- City PlanningThe Grand Traverse Commons Master Plan found on this page of the City of Traverse City's web site provides a historical overview and plan for the future for the hospital area. The plan includes maps of the hospital throughout its history.
- Kirkbride Buildings"This web site is the work of amateur photographer/historian and web designer Ethan McElroy."
- On the Construction, Organization, and General Arrangements of Hospitals for the InsaneThis e-book available through HathiTrust was written by Thomas S. Kirkbride. The preliminary remarks may be of interest.
- A Piece of Mind: The Fate of the State-Funded Asylum of The Nineteenth Century2004 master's degree thesis submitted to the University of Georgia - in pdf form
- Report of the Board of Trustees of the Northern Michigan Asylum at Traverse City1886 - Reports for other years are also available in HathiTrust
Note: There is a blank page between the list of officers and the report. - Through the Years: A Brief Look at Traverse City State Hospital Since 1884Traverse City State Hospital Booklet , 1972 Available through HathiTrust
- Traverse City State HospitalImages from the Michigan Historical Psychiatric Project
- Traverse City State HospitalListen to this episode of Interlochen Public Radio's Points North program
- Traverse City State Hospital CollectionThe Traverse Area District Library's collection of Reports of the Board of Commissioners/Trustees, available in pdf
- The Village at Grand Traverse CommonsIncludes a historic display as well as how the site is being used now
In the News
- Digital Michigan NewspapersAvailable through CMU's Clarke Historical Library, you can search for mentions of the hospital and the names of those associated with it.
- From Ex-Mental Hospital to a New Mixed-Use Life2010 New York Times article
- Overloaded Mental Hospitals - Program Suffers From Depression1937 Ann Arbor News, February 18
Google News Archive
The Google News Archive is a collection of scanned newspapers from around the country. The links below go to selected entries. You may wish to conduct further searches related to the aspect of this topic you have chosen to pursue.
- County is Pinched by Crowded State Hospital, Schools1929 article from the Ludington Daily News
- Mental Health Service Financing Explained1975 Ludington Daily News Article
- No Past - No Future1979 Boca Raton News article about a lawsuit filed on behalf of a former resident of the hospital
- Last Patient Leaves Psychiatric Hospital1989 article from The Argus-Press
- Former asylum a big draw: Hundreds line up before dawn for sale1998 AP article in The Daily Gazette
Related Topics
*Your single sign-on is needed to access some of the library's resources.
While articles directly related to the Traverse City State Hospital are limited, the ProQuest databases do have articles such as "From Beauty to Despair: The Rise and Fall of the American State Mental Hospital" and ""Healthy avenues of the mind": Psychological theory building and the influence of religion during the era of moral treatment" which speak to the topic more generally.
- ProQuest Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text information for the following subject areas: arts & humanities, education, health care administration, military, nursing and allied health, psychology, religion, social science, and technology - Unlimited users
- Moral Treatment in American Psychiatry1963 book available through HathiTrust
The 1989 documentary, Asylum: A History of the Mental Institution in America, is available in Films on Demand.
- Films on Demand
Search educational films, documentaries, and newsreels by segment or title.
Contact Us
Here's How:
Hours: 8 am - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday - Grayling
Phone: 989-275-5000 x 246
Email: library@kirtland.edu Please allow 24-48 hours for response
For Answers to Library Questions, check out our Library FAQs
Available for check out
Angels in the Architecture by Call Number: RC445 .M5 T698 2001ISBN: 0814329500Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Beauty Is Therapy by Call Number: RC 445 .M53 T733 2001ISBN: 9780970477804Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Northern Michigan Asylum by Call Number: RC 445 .M53 T73 2010ISBN: 9781933926254Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Traverse City State Hospital by Call Number: RC 445 .M53 T738 2005ISBN: 9780738533896Publication Date: 2005-04-27
The Traverse City State Hospital Training School for Nurses by Call Number: RT 80 .M534 L43 2012ISBN: 1475093446Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Ebook Central e-books
- Ebook CentralEbooks available to read on your computer or download to your device.
The Ebook Central collection does not include any books specifically about the Traverse City State Hospital. However, related titles include:
- Architecture, Landscape and Amer Culture : Architecture of Madness : Insane Asylums in the United States, 2007
- Asylum : Inside the Closed World of State Mental Hospitals, 2009
- Asylum on the Hill : History of a Healing Landscape, 2012
- Mad in America : Bad Science, Bad Medicine, and the Enduring Mistreatment of the Mentally Ill, 2001