Library Resources
Find Books & Ebooks
- Kirtland CatalogSearch over 18,000 print and eBooks listed in Kirtland's catalog. You will also find audiobooks on CD, eaudiobooks, and DVDs listed in the catalog.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowRequest resources from other libraries through Kirtland Library's Interlibrary Loan service (allow 2 weeks to get your materials).
- Ebook CentralEbooks available to read on your computer or download to your device. Single sign-on required.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a variety of subjects. Single sign-on required.
- Libby (OverDrive)eBooks & eAudio books available for check-out. You must have an active Library account and a Library-issued PIN.
Articles: What They Are & Where to Find Them
Publications containing articles are referred to as periodicals and come in many forms:
- scholarly journals
- trade journals
- popular magazines
- newspapers
Find out more about the different types of periodicals by looking at the Magazine vs. Journals chart from the Austin Community College Library Services department.
Articles provide current information including news, opinions, and research. As a college student, you will not be using magazines like People, Ladies Home Journal, Sports Illustrated, or Vogue. Your instructors expect you to find articles in scholarly journals for your research.
The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. While they contain magazines, journals, and newspapers, some databases may also contain reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Database Searching guide can help you better understand databases and database searching.
What database will help you find the best articles for this project? Browse Databases by Subject or look at an A-Z list of all databases available through Kirtland's Library.
Searching the Databases off-campus? Use your Single Sign-On username and password to access.
Kirtland Library Catalog
Keep it simple! Good search terms are usually one word (example - autism) or one very simple phrase (example - global warming). Do not search sentences or long phrases all in one search box, such as global warming effects on atmospheric conditions.