Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUS 107 Entrepreneurship & Innovation Gary Vetter: Find Articles

A course guide designed to assist students in creating a business plan

What are Articles & Where Do I Find them?

Publications containing articles are referred to as periodicals and come in many forms:

  • scholarly journals
  • trade journals 
  • popular magazines
  • newspapers

Find out more about the different types of periodicals by looking at the Magazine vs. Journals chart from the Austin Community College Library Services department.

Articles provide current information including news, opinions, and research. As a college student, you will not be using magazines like People, Ladies Home Journal, Sports Illustrated, or Vogue. Your instructors expect you to find articles in scholarly journals for your research. 


The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. While they contain magazines, journals, and newspapers, some databases may also contain reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Database Searching guide can help you better understand databases and database searching.

What database will help you find the best articles for this project? Browse Databases by Subject or look at an A-Z list of all databases available through Kirtland's Library.


Searching the Databases off-campus? Use your Single Sign-On username and password to access.

Suggested Search Terms

Try these subjects/terms when searching the Kirtland Catalog, databases, or eBook collections to find information on your topic:

Business Plans Organizational Structure Management Team Management Style
Accounting Distribution Goal Setting Ethical Issues
Stakeholders Investors Employees Suppliers
Marketing Promotion Product Demographic Variables
Benefits Target Market Advertisement Distribution Channels

A video on How to Search Databases (4:28)

Databases: What Are They & Why Use Them (4:27)

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Some journal articles are peer reviewed (also known as Refereed).  Peer reviewed articles carry more authority than other articles because their content has been reviewed by subject experts prior to publication.  Databases allow you to limit your search to peer reviewed materials, or as in the example below, by a refereed article.  By doing so, you assure that the resources you are using are reliable and acceptable for scholarly work.

 

In Gale's Health and Wellness Resource Center database just below the search box are options for limiting your search.  Instead of the term peer-reviewed, the term refereed publications is used.  Check refereed publications to limit your search to peer-reviewed materials.

 

You may not always have the option to limit your results to peer reviewed articles on the first screen.  You might need to do an advanced search or complete a search and then select peer reviewed on the results screen.

 

Image of advanced search page with arrows pointing to advanced search and peer reviewed options on the page.