Publications containing articles are referred to as periodicals and come in many forms:
Find out more about the different types of periodicals by looking at the Magazine vs. Journals chart from the Austin Community College Library Services department.
Articles provide current information including news, opinions, and research. As a college student, you will not be using magazines like People, Ladies Home Journal, Sports Illustrated, or Vogue. Your instructors expect you to find articles in scholarly journals for your research.
The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. While they contain magazines, journals, and newspapers, some databases may also contain reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Database Searching guide can help you better understand databases and database searching.
Searching the Databases off-campus? Use your Single Sign-On username and password to access.
Kirtland librarians recommend the following Education databases for this project:
Try these subjects/terms when searching the Kirtland Catalog, databases, or eBook collections to find information on your topic:
|Classroom Discipline||Classroom Management||Collaboration||Consequences|
|Education||Effective Teacher||Expectations||Factors of Success|
|Grading||Instructional Procedures||Lesson Plans||Objectives|
|Professional Development||Rubrics||Curriculum||Special education|
Some journal articles are peer reviewed. These articles carry more authority than other articles because their content has been reviewed by subject experts (peers) prior to publication. Databases allow you to limit your search to peer reviewed materials. By doing so, you assure that the resources you are using are reliable and acceptable for scholarly work.
Under Advanced Search on many databases, you can limit your search to only peer reviewed articles as seen in the image below.