Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
A resource with a wealth of information about a vast number of health and safety topics, it includes an A-Z index of categories such as disease names, countries, and risk factors. Healthy recipes, health-related news, statistics, and maps can all be found here.
Dermatology A to Z
This site from the American Academy of Dermatology includes information about psoriasis, eczema, and caring for tattooed skin. It also has a SPOT skin cancer section that offers a body mole map and a special section for kids.
Food and Drug Administration
This government site has information for consumers and those in the health profession. The site includes recent food and drug related recalls for people and animals as well as medication guides and cosmetic, health device, and vaccine articles and information. Click on the Menu button for specific topics.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
Part of the USDA, the Center provides "...access to a wide range of trustworthy food and nutrition resources from both government and non-government sources."
HHS.gov U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Provides information about prevention and wellness, public health and safety, HIPPA, and more.
"healthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to bring you the best, most reliable health information on the Internet." Click on the Browse Topics link to find specific information on a variety of topics.
"... physicians, scientists and other medical experts dedicate a portion of their clinical time to this site.." which has sections for patients, clinical trials, and health professionals. Click on the Health Information link to find information on specific topics.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
MLA Top Health Websites
The Medical Library Association's For Health Consumers and Patients page has categorized sites as being useful for general health, cancer, breast cancer, diabetes, eye disease, HIV/AIDS, or stroke.
National Institutes of Health
Find information about grants, current research, clinical studies, and health.
Office of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention
Provides information about food and nutrition, physical activity, health literacy, and health care quality.
Stanford Health Library
The Stanford Health Library has created a site that shares the knowledge of Stanford Medical staff through articles and videos of lectures. The Stanford Health Library provides access to Gale’s Health & Wellness Resource Center and eBooks (also available through Kirtland Library's home page). The references page of the “Find Information” section has links to other reliable medical sites.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Click on the Topics link in the menu across the top of the page to find the Food and Nutrition and the Health and Safety pages. Links to suggested sites are at the bottom of each of these.
Web sites reviewed by Choice and/or the KCC Librarians.
Hours: 8 am - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday - Grayling
Phone: 989-275-5000 x 246
Email: email@example.com Please allow 24-48 hours for response
For Answers to Library Questions, check out our Library FAQs
Databases for Consumer Health
The Consumer Health databases, available through the KCC library, offer a wide range of resources including journal articles, reference material, and research reports.
Intro to Health & Wellness Resource Center Database (1:42)
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Medical, statistical and health-related information and alternative/ complimentary therapies - Unlimited users
On the Shelves of the KCC Library