Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Newspaper Resources
Popular Papers - Websites
Local Newspaper Links
These are some of the papers the Kirtland Library currently subscribes to in print. They can be found in the Library's periodical section at the end of the journal and magazine section. Newspapers are kept for three months. The list below has links that will open in a new window.
Crawford County Avalanche
News and information from Crawford County (Grayling area). Published weekly.
Gaylord Herald Times
News from around Otsego County (Gaylord area). Published Wednesdays and Saturdays.
Houghton Lake Resorter
News from Roscommon County (Houghton Lake, Higgens Lake & Roscommon areas). Published weekly.
Ogemaw County Herald
News and information from Ogemaw County (West Branch area). Published Thursdays.
Oscoda County Herald
News and events from Oscoda County (Mio, Fairview, Comins, Luzerne) and surrounding areas. Published weekly.
Links to Other Newspaper Collections
Select the continent to begin searching these links to newspapers from around the state, country, and world. Some papers provide the option of viewing in English or the language of the area. The availability of full text and currency of information vary by site.
ipl2 - Michigan newspapers
Links to 69 Michigan newspaper sites (current)
Chronicling America (historical)
"Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages."
Google News Archive (historical)
Provides facsimiles of newspapers from around the U.S. and Canada. Some date as far back as the early 1800s to as recent as 2009.
A seven day free trial allows access to a selection of historical newspapers from six countries and every state plus the District of Columbia. This pay site (as of summer 2014, $7.95 per month) lets users search by location, time period, and keyword. The browse option lets the user narrow the search from country to state to city to newspaper to year to month to date, zeroing in on important dates in world or personal history. The help center page (at the bottom of the home page) has a video that quickly explains the site’s navigation and how to clip and share.
Web sites reviewed by Choice and/or the Kirtland Librarians.
Databases for Newspapers
The Library's Newspapers databases allow you to read newspaper articles from around the state, nation, and world. Unlike the open web, full text articles can be found without subscribing or paying additional fees. Search for articles about a certain topic, or view the articles from a Gale Database that will take you to specific topic such as (link will open in a new window):
*These and many other papers are available with your single sign-on access to the Library's A-Z databases.
The Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is available to Kirtland students through the ProQuest database. Your single sign-on will allow you to access it.
- Click on the ProQuest link above.
- Click on the word "Publications" toward the top, left side of the page.
- Do a search for Wall Street Journal, in title. This will bring you to Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y. (this may not be at the top of the search, but it will be in top 1-3 titles).
- Click on the link so that you see only the Eastern edition.
- From that page you can find articles in a several different ways:
- To see the most recent edition, click on the date of the latest available issue.
- To view a particular issue, scroll to the bottom and choose the year, then month, then date.
- from this point you can search within an issue by using the search bar at the bottom of the page. Searching for a section heading, such as "Business News" (use the quotation marks) will find articles from that section of the paper.
- To find articles about a particular topic from any of the available issues, enter a search term in the search box that is in the middle of the page below "Search within this publication".
- To search for particular terms within a time frame, click on Advanced Search.
Hours: 8 am - 4:30 pm Monday-Friday - Grayling
Phone: 989-275-5000 x 246
Email: email@example.com Please allow 24-48 hours for response
For Answers to Library Questions, check out our Library FAQs