Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Presented by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information."
C-SPAN Video Library
Current and past video coverage of House and Senate proceedings and White House press briefings. Allows viewer to create and embed clips.
Federal Election Commission
See types of financial support candidates received, current litigation about election finance, and guides for potential candidates.
“The Office of the Federal Register informs citizens of their rights and obligations, documents the actions of Federal agencies, and provides a forum for public participation in the democratic process.”
This portal page from Vanderbilt University’s Jean & Alexander Heard Library provides government related links and information. Information is organized by government branch or broad subject area.
League of Women Voters of Michigan
“A nonpartisan political organization, dedicated to Making Democracy Work through voter education, issue advocacy, and citizen participation”
This site provides information about public policy issues and civic resources, as well as information about candidates, ballots, and the voting process.
Pew Research Center - U.S. Politics & Policy
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."
Project Vote Smart
A nonprofit site, "Vote Smart's mission is to provide free, factual, unbiased information on candidates and elected officials to ALL Americans."
The U.S. Army Heritage & Education Center
Choose "Collections" to be taken to links to military publications, officers’ oral histories, after action and end tour reports, and many photos.
This site provides contact information for elected officials, information about the three branches of government, an A-Z index of government agencies, and commonly requested information organized by topic.
The World FactBook
This section of the CIA web site provides quick facts about the countries of the world including branches of military, form of government, and political parties.
Web sites reviewed by Choice and/or the KCC Librarians.
Local Government Websites
Databases for Political Science, Government & Military
On the Shelves of the Kirtland Library - Political Science & Government
On the Shelves of the Kirtland Library - Military