LibGuides: Science, Technology, & Math resources: Home

Web sites

Astronomy Online
Last updated in 2012, this site still provides basic information for the study of space, often enhanced by NASA photos. Many of the links, both listed on the left of the home page and found in the references (top of the page) remain active and useful.
Biology
This page from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine has links to biology resources and organizations.
Computer History Museum
Online exhibits, videos, oral histories, images and a timeline about the computer and those who have contributed to its development and use are available.
Earth Revealed
"A video instructional series on geology for college and high school classrooms and adult learner…” from Annenberg Learner.
Geologic Time: The Story of a Changing Earth
This project by the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History’s Department of Paleobiology provides information about earth’s geology as it relates to a timeline of eons, eras, periods, and epochs. Each time frame also includes illustrated and printable fossil evidence. A glossary and foundational concepts are provided.
Microbiology
This page from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine has links to microbiology resources and organizations.
NASA
News, videos, podcasts, television, biographies, and more are provided by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration
National Science Foundation
News, research, interviews, and discoveries related to many fields of science including math, computers, and engineering can be found at this site.
more...less...
“The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…"’
New York Botanical Gardens
The plant research and conservation page has links to collections & resources which includes the Mertz Library's digital collections.
The Photographic Periodic Table of the Elements
An interesting and very visual overview of the periodic table. Click on "What you'll find on this site" at the top left of the page to learn more about what is available on this site and for links to other pages.
Periodic Table Live!
From the Chemical Education Digital Library, “Periodic Table Live! allows you to explore a broad range of information about the elements, their reactions, their properties, their structures, and their histories.”
Science360 for iPad
This site offers “the latest science videos provided by scientists, colleges and universities, science and engineering centers, the National Science Foundation and
more.” Videos are available for a large range of science, technology, engineering, and math topics.
ScienceDaily
"Your source for the latest research news" A good site to find out what's new in science and to get ideas for possible topics to research further.
Sing About Science & Math
This site has songs and videos about a wide range of science and math concepts for elementary through college students. Many, but not all, are free. Last updated 2016.
Sky View Café
An interactive planetarium site by Kerry Shetline, “Sky View Café includes star charts, a 3-D orrery, displays of the moons of Jupiter and Saturn, an astronomical event calendar, an ephemeris generator, and many other features.”
The Why Files
From the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this site’s tagline is “The science behind the news” The reports are illustrated, informative, and include bibliographies and lists of related Why files. Users can search the site, browse the archives, and view the “cool science images”.

Web sites reviewed by Choice and/or the KCC Librarians.

Databases for Science, Technology, & Math

The library's Science, Technology, & Mathematics databases provide information and articles for the wide range of studies these subjects encompass including computers, biology, and earth science.