Skip to main content

ALH 113 - Medical Ethics and Law: Articles

Where Do I find Articles?

The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts.  Database Tips can help you better understand databases and database searching.

What databases will be the best for this project? 

Kirtland librarians recommend the following:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context gathers information such as magazine, academic journal, and news articles about current social issues.  It is a good general resource.  Take a look at the Opposing Viewpoints LibGuide to find out how it can also help when you are looking for a research topic idea.

 

Opposing Viewpoints In Context logo link

  

You can search any of the Nursing & Allied Health databases.

 

Health Reference Center Academic logo link

 

 

ProQuest logo linkNursing & Allied Health Source

 

You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.

Suggested Subject Headings for Books and Articles

Try adding these subject headings to narrow your search:

Medical ethics

Ethical aspects

Ethics

Medical personnel – professional ethics

Medical care

Medical law

Health occupations

Patients' rights

Medicine – Decision making

Law and legislation

Periodicals on the Shelves of the Kirtland Library

  • The Kirtland Library has print copies of Nursing Made Incredibly Easy and Nursing 2017 dating from last year until now.  Back issues may be borrowed for seven days.  Current issues may be viewed in the library.

On their web sites these journals offer peer-reviewed articles, some for free and some for a fee. 

Peer Reviewed Articles

Some journal articles are peer-reviewed.  Peer-reviewed articles carry more authority than other articles because their content has been reviewed by subject experts prior to publication.  Databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed materials.  By doing so, you assure that the resources you are using are reliable and acceptable for scholarly work.

*If you don't see the box to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles, make sure you have selected academic journals for your results.

In Gale's Health and Wellness Resource Center database just below the search box are options for limiting your search.  Instead of the term peer-reviewed, the term refereed publications is used.  Check refereed publications to limit your search to peer-reviewed materials.

You will not see the option to limit your results on the first screen of Gale's Health Reference Center Academic screen.  Look for it below the search boxes on the advanced search screen.  You can also limit articles to peer reviewed journals from the results page.

On the results page:

Instead of going to the advanced search page, you can conduct a search and then limit your results to peer reviewed journals.  On the results page of Gale's Health Reference Center Academic there is a filter section in the column on the right.  Check the box to limit your results to peer reviewed journals.  If that is not listed as an option, make sure you have chosen academic journals from the list of result types above the filters.