Access
Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access some library resources.
Database Searching
The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Database Searching guide can help you better understand databases and database searching.
- Database SearchingTips for searching databases.
What databases will be the best for this project?
You can search any of the Databases for Social Sciences, Psychology & Sociology.
Kirtland librarians recommend the following:
Search for gender identity
An InfoTrac Power Search will search several databases at once. You can search all or choose the databases that best suit your assignment.
Psychology Journals
You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.
Suggested Websites
- Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgenderA page of the American Psychological Association website with definitions, resources, and links to news on this topic. **Scroll to the bottom for a link to the APA LGBT Concerns page.
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender HealthFrom the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- SAGE"Services & Advocacy for GLBT Elders (SAGE) is the country's largest and oldest organization dedicated to improving the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) older adults."
Suggested Search Terms
Try these subject headings in your search:
Gender identity
Masculinity
Femininity
Gender identity disorders
Sexual roles
Transgender people
Transvestism
Sex differences (Psychology)
Androgyny
Sex change
Social norms
Gender studies
Identification (Psychology)
Sexuality
Sexual identity
Sexual orientation