Skip to Main Content

Kirtland

MKT 202 - Digital Marketing: Articles

Resources for Internet Marketing students

Articles and Where to Find Them

The best place to find business articles is to search the library's Databases For Business & Economics. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. 

 

 

Searching a database is a little different than using a search engine.  This guide provides tips to help save time and make your search more productive:

 

*You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the library's databases.

Databases for Newspapers

The Library's Newspapers databases allow you to read newspaper articles from around the state, nation, and world.  Unlike the open web, full text articles can be found without subscribing or paying additional fees.  Search for articles about a certain topic, or view the articles from a Gale Database that will take you to specific topic such as (link will open in a new window):

*These and many other papers are available with your single sign-on access to the Library's A-Z databases.

Magazines

The web sites of these publications provide current news and editorials about the latest business trends. 

Back issues of these periodicals are available for check out in the Kirtland Library.

The Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal is available to Kirtland students through the ProQuest database. Your single sign-on will allow you to access it.

  • Click on the ProQuest link above.
  • Click on the word "Publications" toward the top, left side of the page.
  • Do a search for Wall Street Journal, in title.  This will bring you to Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y. (this may not be at the top of the search, but it will be in top 1-3 titles).
  • Click on the link so that you see only the Eastern edition.
  • From that page you can find articles in a several different ways:
    • To see the most recent edition, click on the date of the latest available issue. 
    • To view a particular issue, scroll to the bottom and choose the year, then month, then date.
      • from this point you can search within an issue by using the search bar at the bottom of the page.  Searching for a section heading, such as "Business News" (use the quotation marks) will find articles from that section of the paper.
    • To find articles about a particular topic from any of the available issues, enter a search term in the search box that is in the middle of the page below "Search within this publication".  
    • To search for particular terms within a time frame, click on Advanced Search.

Suggested Search Terms

Try subject searches with some of these terms when looking for information:

  • Advertising
  • Business Ethics
  • Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Internet Advertising
  • Marketing
  • Internet Marketing
  • Marketing Ethics

If you get too many results, you can also search the above terms AND

  • Consumer Behavior
  • Research
  • Usage
  • Analysis
  • Evaluation