Michigan
*You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.
Sailing Houghton Lake
Primary Source Databases
Many of the history databases available to you through the Kirtland Library include or are entirely comprised of primary source material. To see all of the Library's history databases and read a short description of each, go to the Databases for History and Geography page.
Take a look at Kirtland's Databases for History & Geography for primary source information.
A sample of the databases with a primary source focus :
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowDigitized facsimile images of hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Includes coverage of the American Civil War, African American culture and history, westward migration, Antebellum-era life, and other major topics.
- Gale Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch three of Kirtland Library’s Primary Source databases at one time: Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, The Times Digital Archive, and Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 - Unlimited users
- Introduction to U.S. History: The Civil War (Gale) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source information on the United States Civil War - Unlimited users
Periodicals
The KCC Library has a subscription to Michigan History Magazine and has print copies dating back to 1998.
- The Historical Society of Michigan explains how to access Michigan History Magazine articles electronically.
The KCC Library has a subscription to The Michigan Historical Review “the only scholarly publication devoted to the history of Michigan”.
- Use the online index to search for your subject.
- The library has print issues from 2008 (volume 34) – present.
- Articles from the Michigan Historical Review can also be retrieved from the Academic OneFile database. Choose "publication search" which can be found just below the search window.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowInformation on art, current events, education, general science, humanities, literature, medicine, physical science, social science, technology and theology - Unlimited users
On DVD
Ghost Ships of the Great Lakes by Call Number: G 525 .G46 2011ISBN: 0727994954231Publication Date: 2011
Grand Ledge