Books, Articles, Multimedia, etc.
Books and other print materials are available at the Kirtland Library, including:
- fiction and non-fiction books
- audio books on CD
- DVDs
- print periodicals
The Library has over 100 different databases, which include:
- scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles
- newspaper articles and archives
- images
Kanopy is a streaming video platform. You can use Kanopy to share videos in class or embed into Canvas.
Ebooks are digital versions of books that can be accessed and read online, or downloaded for offline viewing.
The Kirtland Library ebook collection offers a wide variety of resources that you can access online, anytime, anywhere.
Benefits to using ebooks:
- 24/7 availability
- Easily search the contents of the ebook to find specific search terms or subjects
- Use filters to narrow your results and find the best source
The Kirtland Library has three main platforms for accessing ebooks:
Each platform has different options, which is why they may look different from one another.
The Interlibrary Loan is a service where you can request materials from other libraries in the United States. This can take up to 2 weeks, so you will want to plan ahead. For more information on ILL, please visit our Interlibrary Loans LibGuide.
Libby (formerly Overdrive)
The Kirtland Library has partnered with other academic libraries in Michigan to create a large, collaborative collection of digital ebooks and audiobooks that are available for free to our patrons. Our Libby collection includes fiction and nonfiction titles, including new releases, biographies, study guides, YA fiction, children's literature, self-help and wellness books, and more.
Some great features of Libby:
- Download titles to your device to read/listen offline
- Compatible with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto
- Adjust the playback speed of audiobooks
- Add your other library cards to increase the number of available titles
- Automatic notifications when a title on your holds list becomes available
- Read ebooks on your Kindle or other eReader
To access Libby, you'll need to know your library account PIN. Contact us for this number.
Get started with Libby with these instructions.
Kirtland Library Catalog
Use the Kirtland Library Catalog search and find items available to our patrons.
The catalog contains:
- all of the print books, DVDs, and other physical items
- ebooks purchased by the Library and available through an ebook vendor such as Libby (Overdrive), Gale, Ebook Central
The Kirtland Library is organized using the Library of Congress system, and library staff can help you find a specific item on the shelf. We can also help you find items based on a specific topic, project, author, or type of material.
Kirtland Library Card
Kirtland faculty, staff, students, and members of the public are required to have a current library card account to check out materials and use some online resources, including Libby.
When you complete your library card application, your Kirtland ID will be registered with our circulation system.
Faculty and staff use their Kirtland ID cards as their library card.
Other Materials
Your students can check out a calculator for the duration of the semester. The Library has TI-30, TI-30XS, TI-83, and TI-84 Plus CE calculators. Calculators are available to current Kirtland students, and those enrolled in math and science classes are prioritized. Students can also borrow calculators for short-term use to complete a test or other assignment in class. Students must have a current Library account to check out calculators.
Your students can check out a Chromebook for the duration of the semester. Students must have a current Library account to check out calculators. Chromebooks are not always compatible with LockDown Browser and other types of specialized software.
The Library has partnered with certain science courses to loan lab equipment to students. Students must have a current Library account to check out lab equipment, and equipment is limited to those enrolled in eligible course sections.
Library Rooms + Spaces
When you enter the library, the circulation desk is to the left. Bookshelves are arranged to create smaller spaces with tables and comfortable seating. Study rooms and other spaces are around the perimeter of the main area.
The Kirtland Library has five rooms that can be used by individuals or groups for studying and coursework. Instructors and tutors can also reserve these spaces to work with students, or to use when a class visits the library for research. Reservations for these spaces are strongly encouraged, and can be made by contacting the library staff. Rooms are available to Kirtland students, faculty, and staff on a first come, first served basis.
All rooms come equipped with dry erase boards, a computer with wall-mounted display, and Ladibug document cameras.
Study Rooms 1 & 2: These rooms are best for individuals or small groups, up to 4-6 people.
Study Room 3: This is a large room and include tables and seating for up to 16.
This room is used for in-person writing support during scheduled Writing Center drop-in hours. This space can be used as a Study Room as needed. Like other Study Rooms, reservations for this space are strongly encouraged, and can be made by contacting the library staff. This room is available to Kirtland students, faculty, and staff on a first come, first served basis.
This room includes 10 desktop computers for student use, and tables and seating for 8. This room is designated for those wanting a quiet study space, or for students who need access to desktop computers to complete coursework.
Like other Study Rooms, reservations for this space are strongly encouraged, and can be made by contacting the library staff. This room is available to Kirtland students, faculty, and staff on a first come, first served basis.
Off-Campus Access
Not on Campus? No Problem!
Kirtland's Library provides access to materials for off-campus students and faculty through:
- 24/7 access to online resources, including databases, streaming video, NoodleTools, and Libby ebooks and audiobooks
- Delivery of library materials to Gaylord M-TEC for pickup
- Mailing requested library materials to students who are taking courses online
For more information contact library staff or see our Library FAQs.