Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIO 200 - Fundamentals of Nutrition: Find Articles

Resources for completing the end of semester project

What Are Articles & Where Do I Find Them?

Publications containing articles are referred to as periodicals and come in many forms:

  • scholarly journals
  • trade journals 
  • popular magazines
  • newspapers

Find out more about the different types of periodicals by looking at the Magazine vs. Journals chart from the Austin Community College Library Services department.

Articles provide current information including news, opinions, and research. As a college student, you will not be using magazines like People, Ladies Home Journal, Sports Illustrated, or Vogue. Your instructors expect you to find articles in scholarly journals for your research. 


The best place to find articles is to search the Library's databases. While they contain magazines, journals, and newspapers, some databases may also contain reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts. The Database Searching guide can help you better understand databases and database searching.

What database will help you find the best articles for this project? Browse Databases by Subject or look at an A-Z list of all databases available through Kirtland's Library.


Searching the Databases off-campus? Use your Single Sign-On username and password to access.

Nutrition Databases

Kirtland librarians recommend starting your search with the Health Sciences databases.

Suggested Search Terms

Try these subjects headings when looking for project information::

  • Nutrition
  • Nutritionally induced diseases
  • (specific disease) - Nutritional aspects
  • Diet
  • Diet therapy
  • Nutrition disorders
  • Diet in disease
  • Diseases - Prevention
  • Food - Health aspects
  • Lifestyles - Health aspects

You can also search for some of these terms and a specific disease or search for a disease independently.

A Tutorial on How to Use Databases

Databases: What Are They & Why Use Them (4:27)

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Some journal articles are peer reviewed. These articles carry more authority than other articles because their content has been reviewed by subject experts (peers) prior to publication.  Databases allow you to limit your search to peer reviewed materials.  By doing so, you assure that the resources you are using are reliable and acceptable for scholarly work.

Under Advanced Search on many databases, you can limit your search to only peer reviewed articles as seen in the image below.