Skip to main content

Faculty Support: About Tutoring

Tutoring

What We Offer: Tutoring

Tutoring

Our Tutoring department is located in the Library. All tutoring services are provided at no additional cost to current Kirtland students.  Kirtland has:

  • the Writing Center which provides one-on-one drop-in writing help from a part-time English instructor.  No appointment required. 
  • the Online Writing Lab (OWL) which provides writing assistance via email.
  • the Virtual Writing Center (VWC) which provides online writing assistance via Zoom.
  • the Drop-In Math  which is one-on-one drop-in help with math.  No appointment required.
  • one-on-one tutoring provided by both student and professional tutors.  Tutoring is available for a variety of subjects and is a good option for the student who needs more on-going, individualized support. A student must submit a tutoring request (see link below) to begin the process. *Please note that due to the nature of community colleges, we cannot guarantee a tutor, but Tutoring works hard to match students as quickly as possible with a tutor. 

*For Writing Center and Drop-In Math hours, check the Tutoring Web page (see link below).

If you have questions or concerns, the Librarians and Tutoring Staff are here to help you and our Kirtland students in any way we are able.

What We Offer: Videos

Tutoring Staff Contact Information

Deb Shumaker 
Director of Library and Tutoring
(989) 275-5000, ext. 235
deb.shumaker@kirtland.edu                                                 

Johnny Elsner 
Lead Tutor
(989) 275-5000, ext. 430
johnny.elsner@kirtland.edu

 

Nancy Pavelek 
Plan For Success/Nurse Tutor 
(989) 275-5000, ext. 246
nancy.pavelek@kirtland.edu

Erinne Baughn 
Math Drop-In Lab   
(989) 275-5000, ext. 379

erinne.baughn@kirtland.edu

Heidi Sura  
The Writing Center/OWL/Virtual Writing Center 
(989) 275-5000, ext. 403
heidi.sura@kirtland.edu

Jerry Boerema   
Writing Center
(989) 275-5000, ext. 403
jerry.boerema@kirtland.edu