Skip to main content

Database Searching: Database Searching - General Tips

An introduction to basic and advanced database searches

Databases

The Library provides access to nearly 70 different databases. Access Kirtland databases on the Databases page:

Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the library's databases.

Database Searching - General Tips

The databases that a library subscribes to may look a little different from each other, but most of them conduct searches in a similar manner.  The video on this page has quick search tips that work for most databases.

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching (5:19)

This video, from the Memoirs of a Modern Librarian,  provides 7 search tips that apply to most databases.

Quick Tips & Shortcuts for Database Searching. By Vanessa Garofalo. YouTube. YouTube, 6 Feb. 2013. Web. 14 Oct. 2014.

Contact Us ...

                 Need help?

                                                            

Contact us...    

    Library Hours

                 

  1) In person or

2) call 989-275-5000
           x246

 

 

Winter 2020:

Monday - Friday 8am - 4:30pm

Summer & Breaks:

Monday -Friday 8am - 4:30pm

Come and See our new space, reserve a study room, study in our new Quiet Room or just find a little nook in which to read! The Kirtland Library is where the cool kids go!

 
  3) email library@kirtland.edu      

 Email is a great way to contact us. Please allow 24-48 hours for a response.

**Library photo courtesy of Marj Esch.