Skip to main content

Database Searching: Magazine or Scholarly Journal?

An introduction to basic and advanced database searches

Databases

The Library provides access to nearly 70 different databases. Access Kirtland databases on the Databases page:

Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the library's databases.

Choosing the right source type

Most databases include information from a variety of types of sources.  There are different types of information for different purposes.  It helps to understand the distinction between some source types that at first glance may appear to be the same.  Magazines and journals may look similar but there are important differences.  The video on this page created by University of Arkansas Libraries explains some of the important differences between these two types of sources.

What is the Difference Between a Magazine and a Scholarly Journal? (1:50)

Watch this video to learn the difference between magazines, trade publications/journals, and scholarly journals.

Magazines and Scholarly Journals. By University of Arkansas Libraries. YouTube. YouTube, 26 Sept. 2008. Web. 13 Apr. 2016.

Limit Your Results

Click on a source type to see only results of that type.

proquest_source_type

Click on a source type to see only results of that type.

infotrac_content

Contact Us ...

                 Need help?

                                                            

Contact us...    

    Library Hours

                 

  1) In person or

2) call 989-275-5000
           x246

 

 

Winter 2020:

Monday - Friday 8am - 4:30pm

Summer & Breaks:

Monday -Friday 8am - 4:30pm

Come and See our new space, reserve a study room, study in our new Quiet Room or just find a little nook in which to read! The Kirtland Library is where the cool kids go!

 
  3) email library@kirtland.edu      

 Email is a great way to contact us. Please allow 24-48 hours for a response.

**Library photo courtesy of Marj Esch.