Skip to main content

Database Searching: Peer Review

An introduction to basic and advanced database searches

Databases

The Library provides access to nearly 70 different databases. Access Kirtland databases on the Databases page:

Note: You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the library's databases.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Peer Review in Three Minutes Courtesy of NCSU Libraries / CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US   

 

                                                                                                                                           

Peer Reviewed Articles

Some journal articles are peer reviewed.  Peer reviewed articles carry more authority than other articles because their content has been reviewed by subject experts prior to publication.  Databases allow you to limit your search to peer reviewed materials.  By doing so, you assure that the resources you are using are reliable and acceptable for scholarly work.

 

In Gale's Health and Wellness Resource Center database just below the search box are options for limiting your search.  Instead of the term peer-reviewed, the term refereed publications is used.  Check refereed publications to limit your search to peer-reviewed materials.

 

You may not always have the option to limit your results to peer reviewed articles on the first screen.  You might need to do an advanced search or complete a search and then select peer reviewed on the results screen.

 

Gale Health Reference Center Academic is an example of a database which provides the option to limit results to peer reviewed journals on the results page.  There, choose peer reviewed from the list of filters found on the right side of the screen.  Notice this screen offers other helpful features such as the ability to sort by relevance and view subjects.

Contact Us ...

                 Need help?

                                                            

Contact us...    

    Library Hours

                 

  1) In person or

2) call 989-275-5000
           x246

 

 

Winter 2020:

Monday - Friday 8am - 4:30pm

Summer & Breaks:

Monday -Friday 8am - 4:30pm

Come and See our new space, reserve a study room, study in our new Quiet Room or just find a little nook in which to read! The Kirtland Library is where the cool kids go!

 
  3) email library@kirtland.edu      

 Email is a great way to contact us. Please allow 24-48 hours for a response.

**Library photo courtesy of Marj Esch.