Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where Do I Find Articles?
The best place to find business articles is to search the library's Databases For Business & Economics. They contain magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, video files, audio files, and podcasts.
Kirtland librarians recommend starting with:
Business (Gale OneFile)
Covers all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice - Unlimited users
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)
Academic journals and magazines for business school students and entrepreneurs
Searching a database is a little different than using a search engine. This guide provides tips to help save time and make your search more productive:
*You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the library's databases.
Databases for Newspapers
The Library's Newspapers databases allow you to read newspaper articles from around the state, nation, and world. Unlike the open web, full text articles can be found without subscribing or paying additional fees. Search for articles about a certain topic, or view the articles from a Gale Database that will take you to specific topic such as (link will open in a new window):
*These and many other papers are available with your single sign-on access to the Library's A-Z databases.
The Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is available to Kirtland students through the ProQuest database. Your single sign-on will allow you to access it.
- Click on the ProQuest link above.
- Click on the word "Publications" toward the top, left side of the page.
- Do a search for Wall Street Journal, in title. This will bring you to Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition; New York, N.Y. (this may not be at the top of the search, but it will be in top 1-3 titles).
- Click on the link so that you see only the Eastern edition.
- From that page you can find articles in a several different ways:
- To see the most recent edition, click on the date of the latest available issue.
- To view a particular issue, scroll to the bottom and choose the year, then month, then date.
- from this point you can search within an issue by using the search bar at the bottom of the page. Searching for a section heading, such as "Business News" (use the quotation marks) will find articles from that section of the paper.
- To find articles about a particular topic from any of the available issues, enter a search term in the search box that is in the middle of the page below "Search within this publication".
- To search for particular terms within a time frame, click on Advanced Search.
Popular Papers - Websites
The web sites of these publications provide current news and editorials about the latest business trends.
Back issues of these periodicals are available for check out in the Kirtland Library.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a collection of educational videos, films, and newsreels.
When you search for a term you will see results for full videos, segments, and series. Using options on the right you can narrow your results by date, type of film, or subject.
You can also browse titles by choosing the Subject Index from the menu at the upper left of the page. You can then choose Business & Economics or limit your results to marketing or to a subcategory of marketing. Sample titles include:
- Finding Your Customers: Marketing and Advertising Your Business
- Internet Shopping: Interactive or Invasive?
- Marketing: Secrets of Branding
- The Industry Leaders and Online Strategy
Many titles provide transcripts (look at the tabs in the box to the right) which can be helpful when citing. Some also allow searching within a transcript to more easily find relevant information, however you need to scroll through the transcript to look for highlighted terms. It does not automatically skip to them.
*You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.