Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AllBusiness offers a wide range of information on various aspects of business including sales and marketing, finance, human resources, franchising, and starting a business.
The Library of Congress' Business Reference Services' Internet Resources page provides links to a range of subjects related to business and economics.
Business a to z - A glossary of business terms
The Washington Post's glossary, "contains more than 1,250 business terms..."
Center for Women in Business
“The Center for Women in Business (CWB), a program of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation, promotes and empowers women business leaders to achieve their personal and professional goals
Doing Business provides reports about a nation’s business regulations and enforcement, ranks each country by how easy it is to start and operate a business, offers an overview of a country’s economy, and provides links to related journal abstracts and sites.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The mission of the Bureau of Labor Statistics is "to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making."
"Bplans is owned and operated by Palo Alto Software, Inc. as a free resource to help entrepreneurs build better businesses. Palo Alto Software develops, publishes, and markets award-winning software to help entrepreneurs write business plans, pitch for funding, and track their progress towards their goals." A commercial site with relevant topics.
BusinessUSA is "a centralized, one-stop platform to make it easier than ever for businesses to access services to help them grow and hire."
Listen to talks by today’s businesspeople on topics such as leadership, product development, and recognizing opportunity at Stanford University’s Entrepreneurship Corner.
The Entrepreneur’s Reference Guide to Small Business Information
From the Library of Congress, the "Looking At the Numbers: Sources of Statistics" page provides web links. Other sections provide links and/or suggest titles to address the various aspects of starting and running a small business.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Information on starting and managing a small business. Includes guidance for each step of developing a business plan.
"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
This site has news about marketing and advertising with varying access to their print issue for free, registered, and subscription users.
American Marketing Association
"The American Marketing Association (AMA) is one of the largest marketing associations in the world, with over 30,000 members who work in, teach and study the field of marketing."
Glossary of Marketing Research Terms
"The Quirks.com glossary has defined more than 1,600 marketing research terms. Search by term, definition or by marketing research topic."
Web sites reviewed by Choice and/or the KCC Librarians.
On the Shelves of the Kirtland Library
Periodicals on the Shelf
The web sites of these publications provide current news and editorials about the latest business trends.
Back issues of these periodicals are available for check out in the Kirtland Library.
Business & Economics Databases
The library's Business & Economics databases provide a wide range of information including articles and reports that offer both background information and news about current trends.
For company histories, SWOT reports, market share reports, case studies, and a business glossary, Kirtland librarians recommend starting with Business Insights: Global.
You will find SWOT reports in the Companies drop down menu. You can also search for SWOT reports by doing an advanced search and selecting SWOT reports as the content type.
Clicking on the star by a result puts it into your saved items.
You will need to use your Single Sign-On user name and password to access the Library's databases.